Skip to content

College of Business awards faculty and staff for professional excellence and accomplishments

Thursday, March 16 2017 12:00am

The College of Business celebrates the success and excellence amongst faculty and staff at the 2017 first annual Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet.

Culminating the 2016-17 school year, Dean Hugh Sherman welcomed faculty, staff and guests to the first annual Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet to recognize professional contributions to the achievements and advancement of the College. Faculty and staff members were awarded and honored for their successes through teaching, research, leadership and their continuous dedication to providing transformational learning experiences for students. Congratulations to our 2017 award winners!

Retiring Headline AwardMary Keifer

Faculty Excellence Award for Teaching and LearningDr. Michael Pfahl 

This award recognizes outstanding teaching and leadership in the classroom.

Excellence in Intellectual Contributions ­– Dr. Sinan Gokkaya     

 This award recognizes outstanding intellectual contributions in both qualitative and quantitative publications.

Excellence in Professional Activity and ServiceDr. Alexa Fox           

This award recognizes outstanding contributions in professional activity and service to the College of Business and Ohio University.

Graduate Teaching AwardDr. Bill Young     

This award recognizes outstanding teaching and engagement that advances graduate education in the College of Business and Ohio University.

Instruction Recognition AwardTom Marchese 

This award honors an instructor who has demonstrated excellence in teaching.

Copeland Staff AwardAdam Yulish and Mike Snavely .                                                                     The Copeland Staff Award was recognizes and honors two staff members who have shown meritorious service and/or contribution to the College of Business community. Winners were selected through an open nomination process by faculty, staff, and students.

The Rising Star AwardEbony Porter         

The Rising Star Award recognizes a staff member in the early stages of their role within the College of Business who are performing at a high level and have demonstrated the potential for making a lasting impact for the College.

College of Business Research Awards ­– Colin Gabler, Yong Wang, Adam Rapp, Kelley Bergsma, Sinan Gokkaya, Xi Liu, Andy Fodor, Bill Young, David Ridpath, Norm O’Reilly, David Boss, Chris Crawford, Marco Habermann, Jason Stoner               

The faculty members listed distinguished themselves during the past academic year by earning an excellent performance evaluation in research. This distinction can only be earned by completing a new book or publishing an article in a journal ranked in the college's top two categories. 

College of Business Research Impact AwardsNorm O’Reilly, Adam Rapp, and Mike Geringer               

The College of Business Impact Award recognizes faculty members who have distinguished themselves as thought leaders in their discipline or profession on a national or global level. Recipients of this award are able to clearly demonstrate that their body of research and leadership has had an impact on one or more of the following: academic research, student learning, executive education, consulting, and the positive role of business on society and the economy. 

Dean’s Special Recognition AwardJennifer Murphy         

This award celebrates the extraordinary contributions of individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty.

To view more photos of the event click here.