Skip to content

College of Business Celebrates Success, awards Faculty and Staff for Professional Excellence and Accomplishments

Thursday, April 5 2018 12:00am

The College of Business honors 36 faculty and staff at the second annual Awards Banquet.

Congratulations to our 2018 Faculty and Staff Award Winners! Dean Hugh Sherman welcomed faculty, staff, and guests to recognize the professional contributions to the achievements and advancement of the College of Business. Learn more about our outstanding Business Bobcat faculty.

Recognition of Retiring Faculty and StaffDr. Ken Cutright, Dr. Clarence “Red” Martin, David Payne, Dr. David Senteney

Faculty Excellence Award for Teaching and LearningDr. David Boss
This award recognizes outstanding teaching and leadership in the classroom

Excellence in Intellectual ContributionsDr. Adam Rapp
This award recognizes outstanding intellectual contributions in both qualitative and quantitative publications.

Excellence in Professional Activity and ServiceDr. Ana L. Rosado Feger
This award recognizes outstanding contributions in professional activity and service to the College of Business and Ohio University

Instructor Recognition AwardTim Reynolds
This award honors an instructor who has demonstrated excellence in teaching

Graduate Teaching AwardPaul Benedict, Dr. Sinan Gokkaya
This award recognizes outstanding teaching and engagement that advances graduate education in the College of Business and Ohio University

Copeland Staff AwardsMackenzie Gruman, Jill Nice
The Copeland Staff Award was created to recognize and honor two staff members who have shown meritorious service and/or contribution to the College of Business community. Winners were selected through an open nomination process by faculty, staff, and students.

Research AwardsRachida Aissaoui, David Boss, Chris Crawford, Travis Davidson, Andy Fodor, Colin Gabler, Sinan Gokkaya, Marco Habermann, Chauncey Joyce, Irfan Kanat, Nadege Levallet, Ashley Metcalf, Norm O’Reilly, Jess Ogilvie, Adam Rapp, John Stowe, David Stowe, Ike Uzuegbunam, Yong Wang, Bill Young
The faculty members listed above distinguished themselves during the past academic year by earning an excellent performance evaluation in research. This distinction can only be earned by completing a new book or publishing an article in a journal ranked in the college’s top two categories.

Research Mentor AwardDr. Michael Geringer, Dr. Jacob Lee Hiler
The Research Mentor Award is given to faculty members who have demonstrated a willingness to serve as a mentor to colleagues seeking to launch or improve scholarship and intellectual contributions or to support undergraduate and graduate research theses, projects, and related activities.

College of Business Research Impact AwardDr. Luke Pittaway
The College of Business Research Impact Award recognizes faculty members who have distinguished themselves as thought leaders in their discipline or profession on a national or global level. Recipients of this award are able to clearly demonstrate that their body of research and leadership has had an impact on one or more of the following: academic research, student learning, executive education, consulting, and the positive role of business on society and the economy.

Dean’s Special Recognition AwardDr. Heather Lawrence-Benedict
This award celebrates the extraordinary contributions of individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty.